Skip to main content

What are the dog bite laws in Florida?

A dog owner is strictly liable for damages if their dog bites someone in a public place or lawfully on/in a private place, including the owner’s property.

This holds true regardless of the dog’s past behavior or the owner’s knowledge of its aggressiveness.

A dog owner may not be deemed liable if they have a clearly displayed sign including the words “Bad Dog” or “Beware of Dog.”

(This defense doesn’t apply to victims under 6 years old.)

If a dog bite victim is found negligent, the dog owner’s liability is reduced proportionately to the percentage of negligence assigned to the victim.

If the victim is found any more than 50% responsible for the incident, they cannot make a viable claim for compensation.

In Florida, potential compensation encompasses medical costs, lost wages, pain and suffering, and emotional distress.

The average cost per claim for dog bite injuries in 2022 was $64,555 according to the Information Institute.

You only have 2 years from the date of the incident to file a claim for your injuries.

Contact Diaco Law ASAP to secure maximum compensation!